Sharon Bessell


Sharon Bessell is a Professor at the Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU, where she is Director, Gender Equity.  She leads the Poverty and Inequality Research Centre and the Children’s Policy Centre. Her research revolves around issues of equality, social justice and human rights, with a focus on the gendered and generational dimensions of poverty and social policy for children.  Her current research projects include Assessing Childhood Poverty in Indonesia (funded by the Australian Research Council) and Valuing the Past, Sustaining the Future: Growing up, living, and learning in small coastal communities (funded by the Norwegian Research Council).

She is currently co-leader of the ANU-IDM team. The IDM (Individual Deprivation Measure) is gender-sensitive measure of multi-dimensional poverty, which aims to provide nuanced, policy-relevant data at individual level.  The IDM Program is a partnership between the Australian National University and the International Women’s Development Agency, and funded by the Australian Government through the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

She teaches in the areas of global social policy, international development, gender and development, and children and social policy. 

Budy P


Deputy Director

Budy P. Resosudarmo is a developmental and environmental economist working on the economy-wide impact of economic and environmental policies on household incomes, human development and the environment, analysing the impact of decentralisation policies on local economies, and investigating the political economy of natural resource utilisation. He is also interested in research assessment using spatial and inter-regional modelling techniques. He currently collaborates with several Indonesian research institutes, researching various developmental and environmental issues in Indonesia, particularly in Eastern Indonesia.

Budy is a member of the Council of the Regional Science Association International, member of the Director Board of the East Asian Association of Environmental and Resource Economics (EAAERE) and member of the Advisory Committee of the Economy and Environment Institute-Indonesia (EEI-Indonesia).

Updated:  1 July 2019/ Responsible Officer:  PIRC/ Page Contact:  IDM Office